Michigan State Requirements

Qualifications: Staff: (None specified except for program director.)

Provider/Child Ratio:

Age Range Ratios for Center-based Care in Michigan
Infants (up to 27 months) (1:4)
3 years (1:10)
4 to 5 years (1:12)
6 to 17 years (1:20)
Mixed age group ratio for youngest child in group
Age Range Ratios for Small Family Homes in Michigan
Number of Children Allowed: 1-6
Ratio of Children to One Provider: 6
Provider's Own Children Counted: Yes, if younger than age 7
Maximum Number of Infants/Toddlers to One Provider 2 younger than 18 months
4 younger than 30 months
Age Range Ratios for Large Family Homes in Michigan
Number of Children Allowed:

7-12

Ratio of Children to One Provider: 6:1
Provider's Own Children Counted:

Provider's Own Children Counted:

The Registration Process:
Get Registered as a Family Child Care Home

Registration is the process the Department of Human Services (DHS), Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing (BCAL) uses to regulate family child care homes for the care of 1-6 unrelated children. The process requires that family child care home providers certify to DHS that they and their home are in compliance with the rules for family child care homes.

Note: It is illegal in the State of Michigan to care for unrelated children in your home without being licensed or registered by the Department of Human Services.
Step I - You must print the Original Application Packet. Also, print and read the Licensing Rules for Family and Group Child Care Homes and the Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116) prior to submitting your application. Upon receipt of your application, a rule book and the Child Care Organizations Act will be sent to you.

Step II - The application must be filled out and returned, as a complete packet in the same envelope, with all of the items listed below to:

Department of Human Services
Cashier's Office
P.O. Box 30759
Lansing, MI 48909-8150

Get Licensed as a Child Care Center

It is illegal in the State of Michigan to provide child care services without being licensed by the Michigan Department of Human Services (DHS), Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing (BCAL).

Step I - You must print the Original Center Application Packet. Also, please print and read the Licensing Rules for Child Care Centers and the Child Care Organizations Act (1973 PA 116) prior to submitting your application.

Step II - The application must be filled out and returned, as a complete packet in the same envelope, with all of the items listed below to:

Department of Human Services
Cashier's Office
P.O. Box 30759
Lansing, MI 48909-8150

1. Child Care Application (BCAL-3970).

2. A check or money order payable to the State of Michigan (no cash). THE FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE. The fee is based on the capacity of the child care center:

Capacity Application Fee

1-20 / $150
21-50 / $200
51-100 / $250
101+ / $300

3. Licensing Record Clearance (BCAL-1326). This form is required for the applicant, each partner, officer, program director, or manager.)

4. Supplemental Information Child Care Center (BCAL-3601).

5. Child Care Licensee Designee (BCAL-5003) form, if needed.

Important Contact Information:
Child Care Licensing Agency
Michigan Department of Human Services
7109 West Saginaw, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 30650
Lansing, MI 48909-8150
Phone: (517) 241-2488
Toll Free: (866) 685-0006
Fax: (517) 335-6121

Child Care Subsidy Agency
Michigan Department of Human Services
Child Development and Care Division
235 South Grand Ave., Suite 1302
P.O. Box 30037
Lansing, MI 48909-7537
Phone: (517) 241-0669
Fax: (517) 335-6236

Head Start - State Collaboration Office
Early Childhood Investment Corporation
221 N. Pine Streeet
Lansing, MI, 48933
Phone: (517) 371-9000 ext. 202
Fax: (517) 371-9080

Child Care Food Program Agency
Grants Coordination and School Support
Michigan Department of Education
Post Office Box 30008
Lansing, Michigan 48909
Phone: (517) 373-4013
Fax: (517) 373-4022

State Child Care Resource & Referral Contact
Michigan 4C Association
839 Centennial Way
Lansing, MI 48917
Phone: (517) 351-4171
Toll Free: (866) 424-4532
Fax: (517) 351-0157

Office of Child Support Enforcement
Office of Child Support
Family Indep. Agency
7109 W. Saginaw Highway
Lansing, Michigan 48913
Phone: (517) 373-7570
Fax: (517) 373-4980

Site Map