Education in Papua New Guinea

Education in Papua New Guinea is managed through nineteen provinces and two district organisational units. In the 1980s, up to year 12 (matriculation) there were:

2600 community schools - grades 1 to 6
120 provincial high schools - grades 7 to 10
5 national high schools - the only institutions offering full-time grades 11 and 12
the College of Distance Education - grades 7 to 10
the Institute of Distance and Continuing Education (matriculation studies)
limited private education provision - pre-school to grade 12.

Site Map